Started Looking for a Cover Artist

I’m only (hopefully) a few months out from being down with my writing, editing, etc. to publish my book so I decided to start looking for a cover artist.  It’s a complex process and entails a lot but I’m looking forward to it.  I know it’s going to cost me but I really want a good cover for my book, it’s the only time I get a “first” book cover so I want it to look just right.  I started looking on deviantart.com today, made a post/request for an artist, and already got some great feedback there.  It’s kind of hard choosing an artist to go with when there are so many talented ones.

I want to be able to ask for an example of what the artists see my cover being before I hire one to do my cover but I don’t want to have a bunch of people draw up stuff and then only be able to pick one.  I may ask for just a rough sketch so that it doesn’t take TO long that way I can get a better idea of what I want as well.  I don’t have a clear cut vision of what the book cover should look like, just different scenes from the book that could make good covers.  I’m sure the artist will impress me though with a great looking cover that I love regardless of what I think I want.
I’ll let you all know when I get the cover and I may release the picture early depending on how long it takes me to finish up my book.

Later!

~ by robertsinferno on August 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
