Almost Caught Up

I’ve almost caught up on all of the critiques that were waiting on me to read.  I finished all of them but one tonight and modified my chapter 4 accordingly.  I’ve been doing so much work but am only on chapter 4 of critiquing, it seems odd and slow but I’ve only got 20 chapters total and now that I have the process of critiquing and being critiqued worked out it moves rather fast.  The critique cycles at critiquecircle.com let you have 1 chapter up a week.  I’ve got a great group of people who critique my stories though, and I do theirs, so it works out wonderfully.

I was searching through forums in between critiques, as I often do, to read other people’s progress and lessons learned.  I came across an aspiring author who was so concerned with the length of his story.  He said he would write a story and off of great ideas in his head but it wasn’t long enough to turn into a full book or a series like he wants to write.  I wrote to him that he shouldn’t worry about length and if he can only write a short story then he might be able to use those to get noticed, to learn from, and to eventually write a series.  Regardless, there’s nothing wrong with being a great short story writer…as long as people enjoy your stories what does it matter the length.  I often think of a quote by Michelangelo when authors want to create longer stories or stretch their writings out:

“In every block of marble I see a statue as plain as though it stood before me, shaped and perfect in attitude and action. I have only to hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition to reveal it to the other eyes as mine see it.”

Basically, don’t worry about your story length.  Let the story be what it is meant to be, just focus on putting it into words so that everyone can see the story as clearly as it exists in your mind.
Later!

~ by robertsinferno on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
