The First Query

I’m committed to providing Fantasy Brew Masters with some short stories for their website, but I thought I’d send a few queries out first.  I wanted to see if there was any interest at putting my finished short story into a magazine or ezine.   To start the querying process I searched a bunch of the blogs I subscribe to and read all about it.  I took some time to read up on sites such as critiquecircle.com and sffworld.com  Long story short, I wrote up a query letter and submitted it to Abandoned Towers.  The thing with query letters is that generally you should only submit your piece to one source at a time, many publishers do not allow simultaneous submissions so it’s a good idea to be patient.

The good news is, Kelly from Abandoned Towers replied back to me very quickly saying that there was interest in my short story.  I sent the short story over to AT and now I just need to wait to hear back from the editors to see if they can use my story.  Kelly was very nice though and even offered some advice on my blog and the publishing world, such as not accepting the first contract that comes my way with dealing with my novel.

I’ll keep everyone up to date on how the query process goes, if my story doesn’t get accepted then it’s just one speed bump in the road.  However, it was nice to have a quick response and first good experience with the querying process.  I know a few authors who read this blog and I’d like to encourage you to really do your research before querying a publisher/ezine/etc.  You always want to look professional.  Since I know the path to publishing my stories and books will be filled with tons of rejection letters and only a few acceptances, just based on the nature of the industry, I’m looking forward to learning more about the industry and continually polishing myself and my stories.

Thanks and best of luck to everyone else starting the querying process!

~ by robertsinferno on October 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
