More Editing

As many of you know, I have been intensely editing my book.  I finished an original self edit of the book, but I want it to be as perfect as it can be.  So I’ve been using critiquecircle.com to get multiple peer reviews on each chapter.  It’s a slow process taking about a week per chapter but luckily/thankfully I’m going to submit the 10th chapter soon.  My book, as of now and pending any major edits, comes out to 20 chapters…meaning this is the half way point!

It’s really nice to get to this point and have a much better story to show for it.  The thing about receiving peer edits is that you learn from them.  I received many edits on the first 9 chapters yet I learned so much for the that I had to re-edit all of my chapters adding what I learned and using different literary tools.

Regardless of your writing style I would highly suggest editing your stories.  I wouldn’t suggest paid services though, take the time and join a peer to peer editing site.  You learn a lot from editing people, you help them out by doing so, and you get critiques back on your own work as well which helps as much as anything you learn from the others.  It’s a nice snowball effect.

Anyway, it’s 1211 here and I’m done for the night, good night all!

~ by robertsinferno on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
