A Non-Genre Piece

I finished a 1,200 word short story tonight. It’s fiction but has no particular genre. It’s a sad piece about a man’s life that has lost all meaning. It was just one of those nights for me and it came out without even thinking what direction the story would take.

I proofread it a few times but don’t see myself making a big deal out of it. I submitted it to a online magazine to see if they want to use it. There’s not very many non-genre fiction short story publications to be found even on duotrope.com

Hopefully it gets picked up, but if it doesn’t I still feel pretty good about it. It was more therapeutic writing than anything. I just found myself in a down day where I couldn’t write what I normally love to write, fantasy. It was almost like I was not allowing myself to have fun with my writing. Luckily for me though, this writing turned out to be entertaining for me in at least the “healing” way.

This week the goal is to edit The Shadowborn General’s chapters that have critiques on them, over two weeks old now, and to write a few new short stories.

Best of luck to everyone out there!

~ by robertsinferno on November 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
